The Gentle Power of Highly Sensitive People Tedx Talk: Video Review (Must See)

Yesterday while I was browsing Youtube, I came across a Tedx Talk by Elena Herdieckerhoof titled, The Gentle Power of Highly Sensitive People. It did two things brought me to tears (multiple times, as I’m a cry baby sometimes), and brought light to a place that I always tried to hide. In Herdieckerhoof fifteen-minute lecture, she explains who Highly Sensitive People are, what it is like to live with high sensitivity, and much more.

Herdieckerhoof explains that we live in a world where the majority of people think if you cry, are emotional, or are too sensitive then you need to be stronger or tougher to make it. Which is far from true, and Herdieckerhoof does a phenomenal job clearing that up.elena-ted

I am a highly sensitive person myself and I can tell you, I cry when I watch Family Guy sometimes, and this does not make me emotionally weak. I have always been told to stop crying, or being so emotional, or that I am too sensitive, and the world will eat me alive. Yet I do not feel that way, instead I know I have a huge heart for this earth and everything on it; I know I am overly empathetic and feel so deeply for people, and I know I would not change that for anything. I also enjoy the very small things in life, like the feeling of wind on my skin, and I cannot help but to appreciate it.

Though I have encountered people and friends that were negative and nasty towards me I wish them the best, still empathizing with them, “When one cries the other taste salt” (Herdieckerhoof) meaning when someone feels pain I feel it as well. However, this does not mean that I let people walk all over me, I don’t stand for things like that (instead I sit). I will be happy for them but from a far, and trust me I have a very strong voice for myself.Being overly sensitive does not make you weak but instead makes you a stronger individual capable of truly understanding someone else; because of this strong message that emanates throughout the lecture I believe it is a must see.

In order to move forward in any aspect of life and as a society we must first try to understand that which we do not. Herdieckerhoof is a wonderful speaker, and has such a powerful message that it would be a crime not to hear it. I applaud her for speaking for those who cannot speak for themselves.

Please check out this video and let me know what were your thoughts about it.

Remember to follow my blog for natural beauty tips and tricks every week. I also have an upcoming blog about my first Fashion Nova purchase so don’t forget to follow me.

Leave a Reply

